news| FAQ| complaints| feedback|

spacerNorth West Region

There are five North West Consortia: Cheshire and Warrington, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire and Greater Merseyside. Details of activities in these consortia can be found at the following websites:

Cheshire Community Council spacer
Cumbria Association of CVS spacer
Greater Manchester Centre for Voluntary Organisation (GMCVO)spacer
Lancashire VCFS Consortium spacer
Merseysidespacer

Regional Coordinators: Corrina McHale and Mary-Jane Peach

ChangeUp in the North West region

Lowry CentreThere are five Consortia – one for each of the sub-regions. Each is supported by an accountable body appointed by GONW.

Consortia in North West region

Manchester
Alex Whinnom
Greater Manchester Centre for Voluntary Organisation
St Thomas Centre, Ardwick Green North
Manchester M12 6FZ
Tel:  0161 277 1004
Email: alex.whinnom@gmcvo.org.uk
Also Chris Heard,  chris.heard@gmcvo.org.ukspacer

Cheshire
Vivien Ellis
Cheshire & Warrington Rural VCS Consortium
C/o Cheshire Community Council
96 Lower Bridge Street
Chester CH1 1RU
Tel:  01244 323 602
Email:  vivien.ellis@cheshirecc.org.uk
Also Mark Reading Mark.reading@chesshirecc.org.ukspacer

Merseyside
Angela White
Sefton Council for Voluntary Service
3rd Floorm 3tc Centre, Crosby Road North
Waterloo L22 0NY
Tel:  0151 920 0726
Email:  angela.white@seftoncvs.org.uk
Also Tessa Willow tessa@changeupmerseyside.org.ukspacer

Lancashire
Denise Partington
Community Futures
15 Victoria Road, Fulwood
Preston PR2 8PS.
Tel:  01772 900251/717461
Mobile:  07762 182 391
Email: denisep@communityfutures.org.uk

Cumbria
Karen Bowen, Chief Officer
Eden CVS, 4B Redhills Business Park,
Penrith, Cumbria CA11 0DT
Tel. 01768 242 138

Email karen@edencvs.co.uk

Projects

Expenditure in £k - ICT and Capital are parts of overall allocations:

Consortium

Allocation

ICT

Capital

Cheshire

1,029.4

109.9

318.1

Cumbria

1,078.0

115.1

333.1

Greater Manchester

1,451.9

155.0

448.6

Greater Merseyside

1,292.3

138.0

399.3

Lancashire

1329.8

142.0

410.9

Totals:

6,181.4

660.0

1,910.0

Each sub-regional consortium manages the delivery of a number of projects to meet the objectives of their respective action plans.

Cross-Regional Projects

8 Regional Projects are in development:

  1. Measuring the Economic Impact of the Voluntary Sector in the North West.
  2. NewNet. Amalgamating Voluntary Sector North West and 1NW (regional BME Infrastructure Organisation).
  3. Building Regional Volunteering Infrastructure.
  4. Impact Assessment of ChangeUp on the BME population.
  5. Assessment of Infrastructure support required at Regional Level.
  6. Research into VCS sustainability post 2006.
  7. Building relationships between Infrastructure organisations in the North West.
  8. Co-ordination of ICT Investment across the North West.

2 Regional Conferences:

  • LAAs and the Voluntary Sector
  • ‘Including the BME Community in ChangeUp.’

Relationship of projects with national projects / hubs

  • Links between the local Volunteer Centre Infrastructure and Volunteering England.
  • Some local concerns about the poor links between Hubs and the regions.
  • Some consortia working to build better relationships.

Document Downloads

Cheshire spacer
Cumbria spacer
Greater Manchester spacer
Merseysidespacer

pointer Capacitybuilders Regional Bulletin - North West acrobat icon 75k

Lead contact and websites

Elaine Howard
Head of Voluntary and Community Team

Email: Elaine.Howard@gonw.gsi.gov.uk

Sheila Wigley
Voluntary and Cohesion Unit
Government Office for the North West,
City Tower, Piccadilly Plaza,
Manchester M1 4BE.

Tel: 0161 952 4380

Email: Sheila.Wigley@gonw.gsi.gov.uk

Web: Cheshire Community Council spacer
         Cumbria Association of CVS spacer
         Greater Manchester Centre for Voluntary Organisation (GMCVO) spacer
         Lancashire VCFS Consortium spacer
         Merseyside

jammer
  • Home [accesskey-1]
  • Index
  • Help [accesskey-6]